DNCL Second Level Consultation and Submissions

The Domain Name Commission is proposing to extend the .nz domain name space by allowing anybody to register domain names at the ‘second level’.  This has the potential to significantly alter New Zealand’s domain name space so it’s important we get your views.  A consultation on this proposal has recently closed. 

Key features of the .nz proposals include:

  • Registration of .nz domain names could be at the second or third levels on an ongoing basis.
  • Existing second level domains (such as .co.nz) will remain and continue to be supported.
  • There will be no impact on any currently registered .nz domain names.
  • Registrations at the second level will be on a “first come, first served” basis, except during the Sunrise Period and where there are currently multiple registrations of the same name in different second level domains.
  • The Sunrise Period will be a designated window, where existing .nz domain name holders (registrants) can register their domain name/s at the second level if they are the only one that has that name at the third level.
  • If two or more domain name holders have the same name at the third level, no-one  will be able to register that name at the second level unless they obtain the consent of the other third level name holders. Alternatively, if all agree, it could become a second level domain instead.
  • A temporary amendment to the Dispute Resolution Service Policy to cover sub-domains of generic domain names registered at the second level.

The above list is a very brief overview of the proposals.  The Consultation Paper at http://dnc.org.nz/content/Second_Level_Consultation_Paper.pdf and http://dnc.org.nz/content/Second_Level_Consultation_Paper.html provides more detail about what is proposed.  It also includes marked up versions of the main policies affected so that people can get an indication of how it may be implemented.

Submissions closed at midday on Thursday 27 September 2012.

An update on the consultation process is published at http://dnc.org.nz/second_level_proposal_c1_update

Submissions have been published on this page.

Related documents:

Public meetings were held in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, and Dunedin. An online-only meeting was also held, and a video recording of that meeting is available. 


Baldwins Intellectual Property | pdf

James & Wells Intellectual Property | pdf

New Zealand Post Limited html | pdf

Martin Kealey html | pdf

New Zealand Institute of Patent Attorneys html | pdf

Foodstuffs (NZ) Limited/Foodstuffs (Auckland) Limited | pdf

Ross Williamson html | pdf

Telecom New Zealand Limited html | pdf

Charlie Pike html | pdf

Jason Walker html | pdf

Mark William Wardlaw html | pdf

Fran Muntz html | pdf

Jane html | pdf

Andrew James html | pdf

Buy NZ Made html | pdf

Rachel Clifford html | pdf

Melissa Semmens html | pdf

Modica Group html | pdf

New Zealand Police html | pdf

Grant Nilsson html | pdf

Liz html | pdf

Richard Dowie html | pdf

Janet Martin html | pdf

Kerry Dukie html | pdf

Cameron Greig html | pdf

Steve Nash html | pdf

T McDonnell html | pdf

Michelle html | pdf

Lori Hope html | pdf

Arnold Velzel html | pdf

Cat Fawcett html | pdf

Shane Drake html | pdf

Darren html | pdf

Andrea html | pdf

ASB Bank Limited | pdf

Communications and Information Systems, NZDF | pdf

AJ Park | pdf

New Zealand Law Society | pdf

Bruce Clement html | pdf

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade | pdf

New Zealand Rugby Union | pdf

Inland Revenue html | pdf

Minstry of Social Development | pdf

Association of New Zealand Advertisers Inc | pdf

Sport New Zealand | pdf

Paul Matthews html | pdf

Thomas Beagle html | pdf

Alastair Helm html | pdf


Rick Shera html | pdf

Andrew May html | pdf

MSN New Zealand Limited html | pdf

Kuznetsov Alex html | pdf

Digiweb Group | pdf

Dennis A. Smith html | pdf

Colin Foster html | pdf

Nick Malcolm html | pdf

Chris Wiltshire html | pdf

Nicholas Wong html | pdf

David Asher html | pdf

Department of Internal Affairs | pdf

Simon vdBerg html | pdf

Web and Intranet Services Team, Economic Development Group, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment html | pdf

Gary Jensen html | pdf

Karaitiana Taiuru html | pdf

Nick Wallingford html | pdf

Mark html | pdf

Lenz Gschwendtner html | pdf

Rachel html | pdf

Ministry of Health | pdf

National Health Board, Ministry of Health html | pdf

New Zealand Qualifications Authority html | pdf

Ministry of Education html | pdf

Matt Renner html | pdf

John Franz html | pdf

Institute of Directors in New Zealand Inc html | pdf

No 8 Ventures Management html | pdf

Erwin html | pdf

Richard Bourne html | pdf

T Oaks html | pdf

Nigel Hanson html | pdf

True Limited html | pdf

Matt Wilkins html | pdf

Craig F html | pdf

Francois Herbert html | pdf

James Nimmo html | pdf

Ministry of Civil Defence & Emergency Management html | pdf

Saman Lawe html | pdf

Torleif html | pdf

Sarah McMurray html | pdf

Glen Eustace html | pdf

Linda Cole html | pdf

Jim Cheetham html | pdf

Ewen McNeill html | pdf

Nicola html | pdf

Grant Collingwood html | pdf

Lucas html | pdf

Toru html | pdf

Timo Reitnauer html | pdf

Mike Leaver html | pdf

Michael Fincham html | pdf

Matthias html | pdf

Brent White html | pdf

Tim Wild html | pdf

Web Drive Ltd html | pdf

Susan Jessup html | pdf

Robert Fox html | pdf

Lenz Gschwendtner html | pdf

Peter Banks html | pdf

Diego html | pdf

William Hoyle html | pdf

Joel Wirāmu Pauling html | pdf

Jed Laundry html | pdf

Stephen Davis html | pdf

Craig html | pdf


Originally published 9am, Wednesday 30 May 2012


DNC news